SOLC 2013 1 of 31: The Horses in My Backyard, Take 1

Let me tell you about the horses in my backyard. Oh, they aren’t mine – if that’s what you were thinking.  No, no – they belong to the farm diagonally behind my house.  Except, they keep escaping into my backyard.

The first time they appeared, it was Memorial Day weekend 2012 and I was heading out of my driveway to head down to my friend’s boat.  My two kids were in the car with me and just as we pulled out of the driveway, I noticed some animals up on my neighbors lawn.  At first I thought they were deer (we are SOOO used to that at this point) – but after a double-take, they were bigger and grazing on the neighbors grass – FOUR OF THEM.  Four, beautiful horses, just ambling up the cul-de-sac street.  Not knowing what else to do, I called 9-1-1.

“What’s your emergency?

“No emergency – just 4 escaped horses”

“OK, do you know where they are from?”

“Yes, I tried to call them, but no answer.”

“OK, we are on our way.”

So, we followed the horses as they grazed up the street.  The police came and chased them home.

 

The second time they appeared was Christmas morning, and it was magical. Almost like Santa left them for the kids.

The third time they appeared, they almost ran me over on the road leading to my house.  Then they ran out onto a busy road. So I followed them, annoyed by the fact that they almost killed me and now were about to be run over on the busy road!  Again, I called 9-1-1.  Again, “What’s your emergency?” “No emergency, just escaped horses AGAIN!”

The fourth time they appeared was the following morning.  I was still shaken and annoyed from the incident the night before.  They were in my backyard grazing AGAIN. I picked up the phone, called my neighbor and said, “Your horses are in my yard AGAIN!”  She apologized, but 20 minutes later, they were still there grazing.

Later that day when I came home, I noticed the piles of horse poop on my lawn.  I was, needless to say, annoyed.  Still am. I haven’t worked up the courage to ask my neighbor to clean up the poop, but I am hoping to soon.

So, these once magical, beautiful horses in my backyard have now become nothing but a magical nuisance.

 

 

 

4 Comments

  1. March 1, 2013 at 10:03 pm

    Everything sounded so magical till the horse poop piles. That’s awful!

  2. newtreemom said,

    March 1, 2013 at 11:38 pm

    The Christmas morning appearance does sound magical…but it is hard to imagine that a real horse lover would let this happen over and over. My sister has horses and she is constantly vigilant to keep fences, gates and barn doors in good repair, and if the horses ever get loose, I know she would move heaven and earth to go get them back.
    You did a good job of catching the changing mood through your writing. Hope your neighbor becomes more responsible!

  3. msb08 said,

    March 2, 2013 at 12:31 am

    I loved this! I clicked on your link because I saw “the horses in my backyard” and thought it would be some lovely moment- then laughed as I got to the end. 🙂

  4. Lori said,

    March 2, 2013 at 12:42 am

    I loved your piece. I could feel your concern and then frustration. Good luck with the magical poop!


Leave a Reply

