SOLC 28 of 31: I wasn’t meant to be a detective

Every once in a while, a situation arises at school that has me channelling my inner “detective.”  Problem is, I wasn’t meant to be a detective.  Problem is, besides watching a few police shows on TV, I have no idea how to be a detective.  Problem is, my  history with school detective work shows few closed cases.  And so, with each case, I try my hardest.  I interview, I talk to witnesses, I look for evidence, I look for corroboration and changed stories, but usually, I don’t end up with a clear conclusion.  It’s frustrating.  How do these detectives do it? I try the silence method, the let-them-sit-and-think-method, the let-them-think-I-have-lots-of-evidence method and more.  Usually, to no avail.  And, usually, I end up spending a LOT of my day on this.  I’m pretty sure that I’m a much better educator than I am a detective.  I think I’ll stick to my day job.

3 Comments

  1. Lennye said,

    March 28, 2012 at 9:18 pm

    I’m with you…I hate “detective” work. Today I had “police” work, I had to stop a fight.

  2. Janet said,

    March 28, 2012 at 10:15 pm

    I hate those days. I let stuff go now, unless it is really serious. I’ll keep my day job too. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Jaana said,

    March 28, 2012 at 11:58 pm

    I have tried being a detective, intimidating witnesses into spilling evidence, looking for clues, interview witnesses (like you), consulting with experts, but still, I will always be just a teacher. I guess I don’t possess the gifts that on TV detectives have. Each to our own I guess…


Leave a Reply

