SOLC 27 of 31: It’s all about the desk

My daughter got a new desk for her room last night. We’ve spent the last few weekends shopping at furniture stores and surfing the internet to find just the right one.

It had to be the right size, of course.  It had to be white to match her bedroom furniture, of course.  It had to have storage, of course.  Those were my have-tos.

My daughter’s have-tos were style, storage and space.

In the interim of having a desk she liked in her room, she turned my living room game table combined with her “lemonade stand” furniture into an office suite.  It has taken over that space completely.

But what I loved about her want, need, must-have a new desk is that she was envisioning so many possibilities for herself: playing teacher, doing projects, organizing her memories, setting up an office, and more.  Her imagination let he be whatever she wants and to her, much of hinged on the perfect desk.

It’s funny, because although I had a desk in my room growing up, I don’t remember doing my homework there. I did it at the kitchen table.  But, I love that to her, this desk is more than a place to do homework.  It’s a place to imagine possibilities.

It’s all about the desk.

5 Comments

  1. March 27, 2012 at 5:35 pm

    Your daughter is going to have many many happy memories of her desk. It’s like the kitchen table at my house. Every scratch, fleck of paint, and scar has a story. Lots of good memories at that table.

  2. Stacey said,

    March 27, 2012 at 5:40 pm

    I had a desk in my room, but I rarely worked at it. I liked doing homework on my rug instead. (Strange as that sounds.)

    Glad she’s all about the desk. 🙂

  3. blogpraylove said,

    March 28, 2012 at 12:18 am

    Glad your daughter found a desk 🙂 I liked the factors she was considering- style, storage and space. Like you though, I had a desk in my room and didn’t work at it much. Even now, I have an office with a desk in it, but rarely use it. I do wish it was bigger…

  4. the other ruth said,

    March 28, 2012 at 12:41 am

    Your thinking about your daughter and how her desk is so much more than a desk. It is all about the desk–and what we can imagine for ourselves in that space.

  5. Alan Wright said,

    March 28, 2012 at 4:15 am

    Initially I came to fully appreciate the word, ‘envision’ in the writing of Katy Wood Ray. Here it is in the revelation of your daughters thoughts regarding desk possibilities. I enjoyed your accurate observations of her deliberate and considered thinking around this acquisition.
    Alan


Leave a Reply

