SOLC 24 of 31: Bad News Calls

When a get a call from a certain person on the weekends or when school is out of session, it can only mean one thing…bad news for my school community and usually, sad news.

And then, I get to be the same thing for those teachers that I call.  When they hear from me on the weekend, it can only mean, bad news.

I feel the same way when the phone rings at 6 a.m.  That’s around the time we got the phone call that my grandfather had passed away – that was 30 years ago.  But no matter what, since I don’t expect 6 a.m. phone calls, I always figure the worst.

And so begins the domino of communications about next steps and how to bring a community together when sad news strikes – this time the parent of a student.  But my staff has known many tragedy over the recent years including the loss of a staff member – 3 years ago, the loss of a student and her mother in a car accident this year, the loss of other student’s parents this year and many, many other personal family losses this year.

I hate those bad news calls.

 

4 Comments

  1. mardie said,

    March 24, 2012 at 5:43 pm

    I’ve had 2 personal bad news calls this year, so I know what you’re talking about here. Calls in the middle of the night make my stomach turn. I’m almost crying before I can get to the phone. I’m sorry to hear that you’ve had so many of those from your school community as well. It’s tough. Really tough. My heart goes out to you right now for whatever loss you’re dealing with. Hugs to you.

  2. March 24, 2012 at 6:34 pm

    Oh, how sad. I know that can’t be easy. We had a parent shoot his wife and then drive a 10 mile distance and then shoot himself. He left two girls, a fifth grader and a freshman. Tragic for the whole community, especially the family. We’ve lost parents, mothers and fathers by illness and have lost students and staff members also in the last 10 years. I know it is life but it doesn’t make it easy. You have my sympathy. My dad is not well and so if i get any call at an off hour now I always wonder. My heart too goes out to you! I’ll keep you in my thoughts and prayers. Keep slicing.

  3. March 25, 2012 at 2:01 am

    I am so sorry to read of these losses. Bad news calls bring the difficult parts of life. I am with the other two sending a hug and a prayer. I pray for wisdom to know and courage to take the next step.

  4. caroline524 said,

    March 26, 2012 at 2:12 am

    It’s never easy to receive those phone calls, I think I shudder whenever the phone rings at unusal times. In my family, I am the “designated” person (I don’t know who decided that) to receive all of the bad news first and then I have to inform everyone else.


Leave a Reply

