SOLC 22 of 31: The Magic Moments of Learning to Read

This morning, while driving my 5 year old to school, he had brought with him one of his favorite books, Shoo! Fly Guy.  He was desperate to read it.  He was determined to read it.  He needed to read it.  And so, I helped him with the familiar language of the first page and pointed out the names that he’d need to know: Buzz, Fly Guy.  And then, as I pulled out of the driveway, he began…word by word reading the ones he recognized, sounding out others he didn’t, and asking for help on some he couldn’t yet attack.  He surprised himself by figuring out the word “food” and “him” and “day.”  I was impressed and he was proud.  He got tired after about 6 pages, but I couldn’t help but admire his determination and stamina for working through a text that was hard for him.

Although I taught Kindergarten and First Grade, the magic moments of learning to read never get old.  I still marvel at the way my 2nd grader has gone from reading emergent reader texts to chapter books.  And this morning, I was reminded of the true aha moments that happen when reading begins to take hold.

What a magical way to start the day.

3 Comments

  1. March 22, 2012 at 1:39 pm

    I love those moments and cherished them with my sons, too. It’s pretty magical when things “click” that way.
    (and we love Fly Guy in our house, too)
    Kevin

  2. Ruth said,

    March 22, 2012 at 4:20 pm

    It is a magical moment. I love watching kids learn to read…and then learn to love reading over and over again.
    Ruth

  3. caroline524 said,

    March 23, 2012 at 2:34 am

    I never get tired of watching the magic happen for a child. What a great drive to school.


Leave a Reply

