SOLC 19 of 31: Finding Your Inner Calm

This weekend, my 5 year old embarked on a 45 minute meltdown that started in the mall and ended at home.

Dealing with such a meltdown in public and then in the privacy of the car and then our home required me to find my inner calm.

It would have been easy to loose my cool.  It would have been easy to yell.

But for some reason, I channeled my inner calm.

I tried to acknowledge his feelings, redirect him and then ignore.

Acknowledge. Redirect. Ignore.

And then, when that didn’t work, I turned on the radio.

I turned it LOUD. Over the yells and cries.

And then he would yell louder.

And then I acknowledged, redirected and ignored.

And so it went.

All the way home and into our home.

Until the anger became “I’m hungry.”

And the cries turned into snores.

And I felt like I had boxed 9 rounds.

Exhausted but triumphant – by finding my inner calm.

Phew.

2 Comments

  1. caroline524 said,

    March 19, 2012 at 8:10 pm

    Those types of meltdowns can test the patience of a saint. I love how the anger became hunger. Kudos to you for making it through the 9 rounds.

  2. Tracy said,

    March 20, 2012 at 1:50 am

    I’m glad you were able to find your inner calm and that his cries became snores. It exhausted both of you! Congratulations on not losing your cool. 🙂


Leave a Reply

