SOLC 18 of 31: Car Personality

While driving  yesterday, I saw a car with flourescent pink eyelashes coming up from its headlights. It made me laugh.  It was possible the most crazy thing I’ve seen on a car.  I’ve seen reindeer antlers around Christmas time, bumper stickers, flowers and more, but never pink eyelashes. It made me think about “car personalities.”  To some extent, the cars we drive are a reflection of who we are: practical, wild, outgoing, fun, functional.  But for some, our cars are the bulletin boards of their lives: college stickers, bumper stickers, business advertisements, slogans, accomplishments.   The most recent trend are the stick figures stickers that adorn cars and tell you how many people and pets are in the family (you can even get the Disney version of them – which adds more to what you know about the people inside the car).  I am always entertained at red lights looking at the car stickers around me and learning about those in front of me or alongside of me.  Most of it, is all in good fun.

My car has nothing on it – sometimes a magnet from the school I work in.   My husband’s truck has a magnet for his business.  Other than that our cars are without decorations.  So what does that say about our car personalities?  Not sure.  I wonder if everyone else considers people’s car decorations as extensions of their personalities the way I do.

3 Comments

  1. elsie said,

    March 18, 2012 at 2:14 pm

    My husband sees cars as extensions of the owners. I see them as modes of transportation in comfort. I often wonder about the people inside from the items they stick on the windows. Eyelashes? How funny!

  2. Cyndy McKenzie said,

    March 18, 2012 at 5:04 pm

    I always name my vehicles. I currently drive a 2003 Ford Ranger pick-up named Ruby. Ruby and I have been together for quite a few years. She has two bumper stickers–one from declaring my status as a teacher and another my pride in being the parent of a Coast Guard son. I never thought about eyelashes…Maybe something silver and sparkly would suit Ruby and I!

  3. caroline524 said,

    March 19, 2012 at 8:14 pm

    I remember seeing the eyelashes on a car while vacationing in Florida and laughing. I guess people will do anything to make themselves stand out from the crowd.


Leave a Reply

