SOLC 15 of 31: Pushy People

I started my day with entertaining the comments of a pushy person, offended by something that didn’t happen the way she thought it should.  I just got off the phone with another pushy person trying to convince me to order something free that I may or may not want…but I didn’t appreciate the pushy attitude.

I think there is a fine line between being assertive or advocating for yourself and being pushy or aggressive.  Advocating means rationally putting your ideas forward, standing up for what you believe and doing so in a reasonable manner.  Being pushy or aggressive has the way of putting the recipient on the defensive immediately.  There is no rational exchange of ideas, simply a barrage of language that hits you and often comes unexpectedly.  I think too, that sometimes pushy people think they are being helpful.  But it’s the opposite.  The pushiness gets in the way of moving forward with quick resolution and seamless transition.

I’m all about advocating for what you feel is right. I admire those who take brave stands and voice their opinions honestly and respectfully.  But those pushy people, oh those pushy people; they just make me mad.

3 Comments

  1. Stacey said,

    March 15, 2012 at 7:34 pm

    Pushy people are annoying (at best). Sorry you had to with more than one of them today. Hopefully your afternoon and evening will be free of them!

  2. MaryHelen said,

    March 15, 2012 at 8:19 pm

    Advocating for ourselves is important. I like how you gave a snippet of the scene and then definited the two types of action.

  3. caroline524 said,

    March 16, 2012 at 2:27 am

    It’s a horrible, no good, very bad way to start off any day. Unfortunately there are times when you are placed in a position where you just have to push back. Hopefully your evening was better!


Leave a Reply

