SOLC 12 of 31: On publishing, feedback and conferring

I love this challenge.

I love this challenge because it forces me to push deeply into my writing territories and find topics that I didn’t know I even cared to write about.  I love this challenge because it forces you to stay committed (like a diet or workout routine) and the longer you stay with it, the more benefits there are.  I love this challenge because for a few moments a day, it encourages me to take time to think of my own thoughts and issues (so rarely done!).  I love this challenge because it offers me an opportunity to get feedback from those I don’t know.

The feedback comes in two ways: general positive, feel-good, I-made-a-connection-with-you feedback  and/or specific conferring feedback, such as: “I like the way you repeated lines in the beginning for emphasis.”  I think, to grow as writers, we need both.  We need that initial, “I read it, I liked it” feedback.  But we also need the other piece – the piece that tells us as writers, what’s resonating with our readers.  What images stick out.  How does our style of writing, topic choice and perspective engage you as a reader?

The daily feedback and comments propel me to come back each day.  They are the positive pushes forward that help to drive the writing to a new place and help to build our writing muscles and keep up a health writing habit.

 

6 Comments

  1. Katie said,

    March 12, 2012 at 11:41 pm

    Great point about the feedback. We need all of these different kinds. So do our students. It’s good to remind ourselves of this.

  2. March 13, 2012 at 12:10 am

    I wrote yesterday about needing comments, too! While it’s important to write for yourself, I think it’s the audience that pushes us to grow. I’m so excited to be part of this challenge!

  3. caroline524 said,

    March 13, 2012 at 1:04 am

    This is definitely one of favorite times to write.
    I think this is a good reminder that just as we get excited to receive feedback, our students are just as excited to hear our comments and feedback.

  4. March 13, 2012 at 2:18 am

    I love this challenge,too. I am not sure what I expected but it is so much MORE already. I relate to ” it forces me to push deeply into my writing territories and find topics that I didn’t even know I cared to write about.” That was surprising.

  5. elsie said,

    March 13, 2012 at 2:30 am

    I feel so sorry for teachers who don’t try this and learn how important feedback is to the writer. They don’t get the value of having words honored by someone else. Thanks for pushing the thinking.

  6. Dana said,

    March 13, 2012 at 3:11 am

    Yes! This is what I’ve been reflecting on but it hasn’t been clear in my head yet. Thank you for clarifying it for me. I enjoy the feel good comments and want to know how I connect with others but I those craft comments are so key too. I’m struggling as a writing teacher who has no writing training to figure out what makes writing good (what about the craft). Those craft comments really help me think about that in my own writing and when I look at others and they push me as a teacher. The specific examples in your second paragraph really made this piece clear for me as a reader.


Leave a Reply

