SOLC 10 of 31: Brownies

When I was little, my mom was a Brownie Leader.  I still remember the puppets we made and the puppet show we put on at the mall.  I didn’t go on to do Girl Scouts at an older age, but I do remember that I loved having my mom be a leader.  I guess that’s why, I am one now.  Last year, my daughter really wanted to be a Brownie, but there wasn’t any room in the local group.  This year, I got an e-mail (along with 12 other girls who were wait-listed) that we could start a group of our own if someone stepped up to lead.  Oy! Since “step up” seems to be my middle names these days, I volunteered – not fully realizing the scope of what I was getting myself into.  I’ve gone to some trainings, I have a great co-leader and we’ve worked our way through a few badges already.  It’s a lot of work. A lot of work that I probably didn’t need to add to my already overcrowded plate.  But, my daughter loves that I’m the leader.  And I hope, that in 30 years, she’ll still feel proud that I took the time to be her leader and remember some of the projects that we did together.

1 Comment

  1. March 25, 2012 at 2:12 am

    I went all through Girl Scouts. My Mom stepped up in Junior High because no one would do it. We had adventures and learned outdoor skills. We went to the desert at Spring break for a primitive encampment. All because my Mom. My sister has gone on to have a career in State and National parks. My sis always credits our Mom and Girl Scouts for inspiring her. So, well done. 🙂


Leave a Reply

