SOLC 8 of 31: Pushing out of your comfort zone

This week, I pushed myself out of my comfort zone twice.  Three times after tonight’s school play.  You see, although I’m a building principal of a school of 650+ students and am used to addressing audiences of 500+, I’m not that comfortable being the center of attention.  This week, however, we had one of the Harlem Globetrotters visit our 5th grade students for an assembly on character education.  During his presentation he asked for student representatives and a teacher volunteer (none did!) – so he called on me.  Feeling nervous and sweaty and really, really not wanting to be up in front, I made my way to the “magic circle.”  He taught us some tricks and had me “shake my booty” several times while doing my new tricks.  The kids loved it.  I was dying inside!

Today, was our school play, where I was asked to do a mock rock guitar solo for 30 seconds or so as a cameo.  In the past, my AP has been part of the play willingly, but she wasn’t available for the daytime and nighttime performance this year.  So, begrudgingly, I agreed.  Moving on stage for my solo, again, dying inside.  But the students LOVED it.  While exiting the performance they told me, “YOU ROCK!” and “YOU ARE SO COOL” and “GOOD JOB!”

So now, with one more performance to go, I wouldn’t say that I’ve conquered my performance fears.  But I do think that every once in a while, it is good to be given that shove out of your comfort zone.  I think about what I’m modeling for my students and my own children and sometimes facing your fears and moving out of where you are comfortable are good things to experience.  I’ll still be nervous tonight, but I did it successfully once, so I can do it again.  Sometimes, it’s good to get shoved in another direction.

7 Comments

  1. MaryHelen said,

    March 8, 2012 at 4:57 pm

    I love how you shared your inner feelings. Your risk is a model for your students. You are connecting with them and empowering them and thus, their encouragement is empowering you too. Yeah for you!

  2. Tam said,

    March 8, 2012 at 5:23 pm

    I’m with you there. I taught in a classroom but that didn’t mean I could talk in front of a group freestyle. I always had my end of the year student award winners’ speeches written down. You were very brave and maybe now you have some material to go back on just in case!!! Good luck in your future stage performances. You never know where this might lead…….

  3. elsie said,

    March 8, 2012 at 6:01 pm

    We grow every time we try something new. It puts you into a whole new light for the kids when they see you in a different persona. They don’t know is this hard for you. They just see a person willing to try new things. Good for you!

  4. Donna Smith said,

    March 8, 2012 at 8:24 pm

    It looks so easy when someone else is the one on center stage. Good for you for doing it any way. You may never get to enjoy it, but you’ll know you can do it and survive, and that’s an important lesson!

  5. Judy C. said,

    March 8, 2012 at 10:27 pm

    We all need that nudge, push, shove to get us into something outside of our little circle. Because your a principal, I’m sure the students (and teachers, parents too) think that it’s not a big deal for you, but now they see a person who is willing to go beyond their role in life. Good luck tonight and you will find other opportunities to share your acting abilities!

  6. Katie said,

    March 8, 2012 at 11:03 pm

    Trying new things makes life interesting! Sounds like you really made an impression on the students.

  7. caroline524 said,

    March 9, 2012 at 3:43 am

    What a great surprise for the students! They will expect to see you in next year’s performance.


Leave a Reply

