SOLC Day 6 or 31: Dr. Seuss Snacks

Last week, in anticipation of Read Across America Day, my daughter’s 2nd grade teacher sent home some cute Dr. Seuss inspired snack ideas.  I decided to make the “One fish, Two Fish” jello snacks (blue jello in a clear cup, with 2 red swedish fish in it).  They came out very cute.  I made them for my son’s Kindergarten class too.  His class LOVED them, so last night, we made, “Thing 1 and Thing 2” cupcakes (red velvet cupcakes with white frosting and blue cotton candy on top!).  They came out so cute too!  Tonight, we are making Dr. Seuss Cat in the Hat kabobs with marshmellows and red fruit roll-ups.  He has already told me that I need to come up with two more things for the other days!

It’s funny how food can motivate and inspire and support education.  I love the way Read Across America highlights Dr. Seuss and his genre and overall love for reading!  Our schools have taken on whole weeks dedicated to “Wacky Wednesday” or “Hat Day” or any other variations.  I was impressed with how many snack options there were when I googled “Dr. Seuss Snacks!”

I’m thrilled that I’ve done my part to add to the excitement of the week.  It’s worth the smiles on their faces for sure!

4 Comments

  1. caroline524 said,

    March 6, 2012 at 5:58 pm

    You will have to let us know what other snacks you can make. They sound very yummy!

  2. Katie said,

    March 6, 2012 at 10:50 pm

    Those sound like really fun treats! I wish I could bring things in for my class. We have such tight allergy restrictions in our district.

  3. Chris said,

    March 7, 2012 at 1:53 am

    YUM! These snacks sound so great. I bet your kids’ classmates had huge smiles!
    Chris

  4. macrush53 said,

    March 7, 2012 at 4:32 am

    What a fun post. We celebrated on Family Library Night tonight. I love the snacks.


Leave a Reply

