Slice of Life, Day 28: Head above the water

We’ve all been there, felt like we’re sinking (sinking in papers, meetings, decisions).  Right now, just trying to keep my head above the water. Treading as fast as I can.  Piles of papers and reports to write are pushing me down.  Just wrote most of one, head above the water. 8 more to go…for now.  Then 10 more short ones. Then 3 more shorter ones.  Then 6 more of the same.  Then 30+ of longer, much longer ones.

I hate this time of year for this reason.  The reports. I’ve paced myself well so far this year and have everything done that needs to be done to write these reports.  And yet, it is weighing on me.  It’s pushing me down.  The piles are staring at me from across the office. I’ve made a plan, a to-do list, in order to keep my head above the water. I’m planning to do 1 long report each day until the first 9 are done. I’ll sprinkle the short ones in, so I can begin moving them from the “to-do” to “done” pile.

It always gets done and it will. And when it does, I’ll feel accomplished. But for now, I’m just trying to keep my head above the water.

1 Comment

  1. Wanda Brown said,

    March 30, 2011 at 9:57 pm

    I hear you. It is a terrible feeling. I think your plan is a good one…one report at a time. That is how I am doing my report cards and conference prep…one student at a time.


Leave a Reply

