Slice of Life, Day 27: Libraries

I went to the library with my daughter today. It’s something I try to do with my children at least once a week. They enjoy checking out DVDs and books.  As a newly confident reader, my daughter is starting to explore chapter books.  Our library had a suggested reading guide for young readers suggesting series that were good for young girls and young readers….PERFECT!  So, together we picked the first book of a series and decided it would be our “read together” book.

As a child, my mother always took me and my brother to the library. I remember loving to bring home new books.  When I began reading chapter books, I loved getting hooked on a new series – getting to know the characters and watching them grow over the course of a few books. The best authors always left you wanting more!

As an adult, I still love reading books in a series or books by a favorite author.  When I find a favorite author, I tend to read lots of his or her books quickly – relishing the fact that I’ve found a new author to enjoy.  I’m in a lull right now…maybe because I’m busy, but maybe because I need to find a new series to remind me that there is always time to enjoy a good book.

5 Comments

  1. Elizabeth G. said,

    March 29, 2011 at 11:37 pm

    I am right there with you….once I find an author or a series, I can’t get enough. My son is also a beginning reader and loves to devoure books. Which series did your daughter choose?

  2. Linda Baie said,

    March 30, 2011 at 12:31 am

    I have such memories of going to the library when I was young, & for some time, my little town had the bookmobile come. I loved it, still remember tramping up the stairs into ‘wonderland’ for me. What a great tradition you are starting with your children. And just seeing you read is also really nice.

  3. Barbara Weisbart said,

    March 30, 2011 at 12:42 am

    I remember the joy of going to the library with my mother and my sister. I remember how my dad frequented the library every week taking out 6 to 8 books and reading them all.When I became a mother, I remember taking Jodi and her brother to the library and then years later taking my nephew Zac every week. I hope with all the new ways to get information, that libraries will still stay relevant and be a source of joy for people. Glad it is for my grandchildre.

  4. caroline524 said,

    March 30, 2011 at 1:31 pm

    I can remember the endless trips to the library with my sisters and mother. I think I enjoyed the walks to the library as much as going through the rows of books and trying to decided which ones I wanted to borrow.


Leave a Reply

