Slice of Life, Day 26: Bravado by clothing

My daughter put on a “Girls Rock” t-shirt this morning. She felt immediately empowered, running from room to room to show it off to her dad and brother.

This weekend, we bought my son a NY Yankees baseball hat for T-ball. He wore it all weekend, feeling important.

It’s amazing how the right piece of clothing can determine how confident, smart, happy you can feel.  As a child who struggled with my weight (still do), I had a pair of “skinny jeans” that made me feel so confident as a middle schooler. I can remember finding them at the store, trying them on and feeling exhilerated by them.

Sometimes its the color of the clothing, sometimes it’s the fit, sometimes it’s the comments you receive when wearing something – but clothing does have the power to improve your spirit, give you confidence and boost your self-image.

Of course, it goes the other way too, because I have lots of memories about being defeated in a dressing room, but for today, for now, I’ll focus on the positive power of clothing – the power to empower.

6 Comments

  1. Linda Baie said,

    March 28, 2011 at 6:17 pm

    A nice way to put it, ‘the power to empower’. We could translate this to teaching a bit, like knowing that you ‘have’ something such as knowledge of a topic can also empower. A lovely piece of clothing makes one feel special, just as you described the joy of your daughter.

  2. caroline524 said,

    March 28, 2011 at 10:57 pm

    Isn’t is amazing how your behavior can change based on your clothing?

  3. Christy said,

    March 29, 2011 at 2:11 am

    I know it sounds superficial, but it is so true. I think it is about feeling like your best self. I love your title!

  4. the other ruth said,

    March 29, 2011 at 2:26 am

    Found myself nodding all the way through your slice–I know I have “go to” clothes for days that I feel the need to be more pulled together or powerful. Thanks for such an enjoyable way of looking at it. 🙂

  5. Becky said,

    March 29, 2011 at 4:16 am

    I like how your story looked at your children and clothing and back to your younger years. So true about how clothing can affect the person.

  6. Barbara Weisbart said,

    March 30, 2011 at 12:30 am

    I remember those skinny jeans and so many dressing room episodes, both great and depressing. I am also fascinated at how different people are attracted to differet clothing. When Jodi and I went shopping for her, it was always tans, brown, blacks, neutrasl. For me it was bright colors. And now, Olivia goes for the bright colors. Will Olivia’s daughter go for the more subdued colors? Is one generation a reaction to the other?


Leave a Reply

