Slice of Life Day 24: Hand-me-downs

A colleague of mine, who has a daughter who is older than mine, has been giving me hand-me-downs for a few years now. Last week she gave me another bagful of goodies for my daughter.  Upon hearing that new clothes from “M” were in the car, my daughter insisted that I get them out so that she could pick out what she wanted to wear immediately.  I brought the bag in and took each piece of clothing out.  For each article of clothing she’d say,”I LOVE that!” or “That is so me!” or “I think I’ll wear that one today,” “or maybe that one,”  “or maybe that one, I can’t decide!”  It’s lovely to get the gift of hand-me downs and it’s lovely that what’s old for someone else is new and exciting for the recipient.  For me, I know that I so appreciate hand-me-downs and also know that nothing compares to being able to give or lend something that you don’t need to someone who does.

 

3 Comments

  1. onesunflower said,

    March 27, 2011 at 1:24 am

    I can just picture your car ride. I was the oldest of 3 girls so most of the hand-me-downs were mine, but now it seems that I’m the recipient from my two siblings – and I love it!

  2. Linda Baie said,

    March 27, 2011 at 3:37 am

    Nice way to tell the story, the background & then the excitement of your daughter. It is thoughtful of your friend to keep sharing with you.

  3. caroline524 said,

    March 28, 2011 at 11:09 pm

    I am pretty sure your friend enjoys the fact that your daughter can continue to love those clothes as much as hers did.


Leave a Reply

