Slice of Life Day 18: Sunny with a chance of cold

It’s a beautiful clear day, blue sky, sunny and…cold (ish).  I remember when I was in college, my roommate was from San Diego (my college was in Massachussets). My roommate had the darndest time figuring out the New England weather.  She’d look out the window, see a blue sky, sunny day and head out of the dorm with a t-shirt and shorts.  She’d run back in 10 minutes later and say, “IT”S FREEZING OUT THERE!” On other days in late spring early summer, she’d look out the window and see a cloudy sky and dress in jeans and a flannel shirt, only to return later…sweating.

As someone who was used to the weather, I found myself giving her a formula for the New England weather….

Winter + blue sky & sunny = FREEZING COLD

Late spring/Summer + cloudy/rainy = HUMID

late spring/summer + blue sky = WARM

and on and on…. eventually, she adapted.  But to this day, if I misread the blue sunny sky, I think of the confusion of my college roommate from California during our first-year.

3 Comments

  1. Linda Baie said,

    March 21, 2011 at 2:24 am

    So interesting, the weather. I live in Colorado, & it’s always (well, almost always) sunny, so it can be 90 or 20 below, still sunny. And it can change 30 degrees or more in a few hours. I liked the details you gave from your memory. Funny how we remember those moments, isn’t it?

  2. caroline524 said,

    March 21, 2011 at 6:30 pm

    My husband’s niece lived in San Diego for several years and complained about how she could never figure out how to dress for the day. It would start out sunny and 35 degrees and by noon she was sweating. Maybe she needed a combination list for San Diego.

  3. MaryHelen said,

    March 23, 2011 at 2:02 pm

    I love your list for the weather. My kids are always checking outside before they live, especially at this time of year. Do we need coats or not? Great memory.


Leave a Reply

