Slice of Life, Day 14: Bossy now, Leader later

Last night I was talking on the phone with my mom while my 6 year old daughter was bossing around my 4 year old son. I was complaining to my mom about how bossy my daughter can be and she said, “Bossy now, a leader later.”  Perfect.  I knew I had my next “slice of life” entry.

There is a fine line between being bossy and being a leader.  Don’t all leaders have some level of bossiness to them anyway? It just depends on how you use it that might mark the difference in the definition.

Bossy people  have visions.  Leaders have visions.

Bossy people know how they want something done. Leaders know how they want something done.

Bossy people know when they want something done. Leaders know when they want something done.

Bossy people demand. Leaders invite.

Bossy people can alienate. Leaders motivate.

Bossy people make you feel small. Leaders make you feel empowered.

So maybe there are some lessons to be learned from being “bossy” and turning that into true leadership.  Bossy now, Leader later…hmmm….

3 Comments

  1. elsie said,

    March 17, 2011 at 8:42 pm

    Nice observations on the difference between bossy and leader. It is a fine line the leader needs to follow. Leaders have followers, bossy people can’t find anyone to help.

  2. caroline524 said,

    March 17, 2011 at 11:52 pm

    Leaders can multiply theirselves, bossy people take away from others.


Leave a Reply

