Slice of Life Day 11: Reshuffling the Stuff

I’m forever trying to clean up and organize my house. With two young children and busy schedules, it’s a never-ending demand. I find that most often, I am just reshuffling the stuff: moving toys from one room to another, moving shoes from one floor to the next, moving clothes from one laundry basket to downstairs or back in its place. It seems, really, to have no forward progress.

I do like though when I “reshuffle the stuff” when I find toys that haven’t been played with for a while – that are rediscovered with new interest or pictures in a pile that I meant to hang up (and do).  I’m thinking that I can’t mark progress by the cleanliness or amount of organization, but maybe just by the joy in finding old toys that are new again or crossing one more thing off a long to do list (from something that was buried in a pile that I’ve just unpiled).  Perhaps its like a marathon, where I need to focus more on each mile marker rather than the total sum of the miles run at the end.

2 Comments

  1. elsie said,

    March 13, 2011 at 6:10 pm

    Now there’s an Aha! moment for you. I love it when I ‘uncover’ something that I’ve been looking for. I like your thinking and will also change my ‘mile markers’ in my life.

  2. MaryHelen said,

    March 13, 2011 at 11:47 pm

    Excellent thinking. I like the way you move from sharing how you shuffle things to how your perspective on shuffling changes. Excellent move. Great reflection.


Leave a Reply

