Slice of Life Day 10: Food traditions

I’ve noticed that I don’t serve my family food that I don’t like. I don’t eat peanut butter and jelly sandwiches and therefore, I’ve never packed a peanut butter and jelly sandwich for my kids for lunch. I don’t eat broccoli, they don’t eat broccoli. I can’t say that I’m the greatest model for what to eat, but it’s interesting to me that what you like becomes what your kids like too.

A long time ago my family had a neighbor that made AWESOME chocolate chip cookies. We got her recipe and from then on (since childhood) we’ve been using that recipe and getting rave reviews on the cookies.  The cookies became a family favorite and a snow-day tradition.  Every snow day we’d make them.  Even now, both my brother and I are in our own homes, with our own families and we still make the chocolate chip cookies on snow days (Mom does too!).  My kids love them. They make them with me and they are for sure a favorite with them and my husband.

Another family favorite is the oven-baked pancake.  A recipe that I got from my mom who got it from a friend of hers in Georgia. When I was very little we lived in Georgia and my family had a great tradition of meeting friends on Sundays for brunch at Stone Mountain National Park. We’d cook breakfast over the grills and the oven-baked pancake was often a favorite there.  It’s definitely one of my favorite breakfast recipes and now has become one of my daughter’s too.

I love the way that food evokes memories and can also serve to preserve traditions.

8 Comments

  1. elsie said,

    March 12, 2011 at 6:01 pm

    Traditions and food go hand in hand. You are right about the foods we prepare for our families are the foods we like to eat. My son never had a mushroom until he moved out and on his own. I was shocked to see him eat food with mushrooms one time. We all must develop our own flavors in life.

  2. caroline524 said,

    March 12, 2011 at 6:15 pm

    Will we get to see the awesome cookie recipe? We can start a new food tradition at home.

  3. Carol said,

    March 13, 2011 at 2:13 am

    I love the idea of baking cookies on snow days. We do sometimes, but not special ones, just whatever we happen to have in the house ones.

  4. onesunflower said,

    March 13, 2011 at 3:19 am

    Your notes about the relationship between what you like to eat and what you prepare for your family ring true. My mom was a picky eater so it wasn’t until I went away to college that I experienced much of the foods I like today. My husband has a broader palette than I do (having lived all over the world) so we enjoy his food choices when we dine out!

  5. Ellynn said,

    March 13, 2011 at 4:27 am

    A post about food traditions and no mention of Grandma’s noodle kugel?

  6. Emma Baker said,

    March 13, 2011 at 4:42 am

    My family eats Chinese food on Christmas day and for some reason it has become my favorite part of Christmas. You’re so right about food traditions!


Leave a Reply

