Slice of Life Day 9: Full-Circle Moment; Awards

This morning my mom was recognized with an award at her work.  My family and I went, along with her co-workers, volunteers who work with her and others to hear others speak about her and to hear her speak.  It was a proud moment for my family for sure.  It isn’t often that as adults, we get recognized for our hard work.

As I was sitting there listening to her speak, I was thinking about all of the award ceremonies, graduations, concerts, recitals and more that my parents have sat through over the years for my brother and I.  It seemed a full-circle moment that I’d be sitting in the audience this time (along with my husband and two young children) for her.

I beamed with pride as she accepted her award and received accolades from others. It must be what she was feeling all of those years that she sat for me.  Well done, Mom!

 

2 Comments

  1. Sashi said,

    March 11, 2011 at 11:00 pm

    That is so nice! I like how you called it a full circle moment. My mom always reminds me that when you have a baby, you become a mom and you take care of every need your baby has and when you get old you will become a baby again and hopefully your baby, all grown up now, will take care of you.
    Congrats to your mom and so nice that you could be there for her special moment.

  2. caroline524 said,

    March 12, 2011 at 4:10 am

    Congratulations to your mom! What a wonderful experience for her to have you and her grandchildren to share the moment.


Leave a Reply

