Slice of Life, Day 8: One Bear at a Time

It’s amazing what caring can do. It makes people reach into their pockets, tears at our heartstrings and empowers us to be the best that we can be. Our community is coming together to support a 2nd grader with brain cancer.  One dollar for a cut-out bear and the donations go to his family.  Three days later, $3700 later, our community is coming out in droves to support this 2nd grader in our community.  One bear, one dollar at a time.

I didn’t expect it to be this amazing. I hoped. But honestly, I expected kids to come in with $1, $2 or $5, not $10, $50 or $100 at a time.  The bears line our hallways in a bear parade.  This student isn’t one at my school, just one in our community.  But it warms my heart to know that we are teaching our students to care outside of our walls.  It inspires me that even in these hard economic times, families and students are reaching deep into their pockets to help a family in crisis and in need.  It’s a good feeling to see caring in action and know that you are making a difference.

3 Comments

  1. elsie said,

    March 11, 2011 at 2:16 am

    It is heartwarming to see the community rally around one little one in need. I always think, what if it was me? So I give because I am grateful it isn’t me.

  2. the other ruth said,

    March 11, 2011 at 2:35 am

    Amazing story!

  3. Sashi said,

    March 11, 2011 at 10:55 pm

    Yes, its is amazing to see how many ‘Bears’ are reaching across our hallways. I am really proud to be a part of this school. It is so important to model and teach children the importance of giving and sharing.
    Very heartwarming!


Leave a Reply

