Slice of Life: Day 7 eNotebooks vs. pNotebooks

Since starting writing an entry electronically every day I’ve been pondering eNotebook entries versus pNotebook entries (Paper Notebook).  I’ve had a writer’s notebook of sorts (or a few) for the past 15 years. I never wrote in them all the time, but I do have them.  Over the past 7 years I’ve used them in my role as an administrator to connect with teachers, model for students and share with others.

I’ve always liked the art of writing with pen and paper. I still write paper thank you notes for every occasion.  I have my own children write thank you notes for gifts they receive (or help me write them).  And there was always something about finding the perfect pen to write with.  I think that when I write in my pNotebook I may write less than I write in these entries. But maybe not.  I do like the idea of flipping back through the pages of my notebook and flagging certain entries. There is some sort of accomplishment to filling a notebook or keeping one over the years and revisiting it.

Writing via eNotebook (or blog) is compelling for other reasons – the public accountability, the comments and feedback and the ability to share it instantaneously.  This can be good and bad, I think.  Within my pNotebook, I can relish a topic, keep it hidden for myself and revisit it before sharing it.  The same could be true of this format, but not for “slicing.”  The immediacy of publishing a “slice” does put the pressure on to be articulate yet not over-think.

I’m adjusting to this format of eNotebook entries, but I’m going to keep my pNotebook alive as well.  I may even print these entries and paste them into my pNotebook as well.  Hmmm….the best of both worlds?

3 Comments

  1. Elizabeth G. said,

    March 9, 2011 at 8:45 pm

    I really enjoyed your post. I have never been a pnotebook person but have always enjoyed peaking in other peoples notebooks (when allowed of course). I think it’s great that you are able to balance both. I like your idea of pasting your blog post into your pnotebook…I may have to borrow it.

  2. jodimahoney said,

    March 9, 2011 at 11:09 pm

    I’d be honored if you did!

  3. caroline524 said,

    March 10, 2011 at 2:12 am

    This sounds like an idea for another book! Hint, hint!!


Leave a Reply

