Slice of Life Day 5: Grandma’s Spaghetti and Shrimp

My friend Caroline (www.caroline524.wordpress.com) recently posted a “slice” about how food evokes memories. This prompted my recollection on an entry I wrote a while ago (when my grandmother was alive). Last year, when my grandmother passed away, I read this as part of my eulogy at her funeral.

Grandma Bernice’s spaghetti and shrimp casserole tastes like Florida.  It was always the first meal (and only meal) she cooked for us on our first night down in Florida.

The funny thing about it was that neither my brother or I liked shrimp, yet we LOVED this casserole and looked forward to eating it on each visit.

At home we wouldn’t even touch a dish with seafood in it.  And yet, at Gram’s, we didn’t mind. We simply picked the shrimp out (as not to insult) and ate around it.

The recipe – simple. Spaghetti, a jar of sauce and baby shrimp, all baked together.  And somehow, it was like she baked the Florida sunshine, ocean, sand, palm trees and breeze all into that casserole.

Gram doesn’t cook anymore. I’ve missed that taste of Florida on my visits recently.

 

2 Comments

  1. caroline524 said,

    March 7, 2011 at 11:11 pm

    As I was growing up, every single trip my family took to Puerto Rico began with dinner at Grandma’s house. We could always count on the savory smells of her cooking as we approached the porch. The food was the same my mother made, but coming from Grandma, it always smelled and tasted better. I guess a grandma’s love can make everything better. It has been 6 years since she passed, and I still miss her terribly but whenever I want to feel closer to her, I can cook(as best I can) one of her meals, close my eyes and take a deep breath.

  2. elsie said,

    March 9, 2011 at 2:12 am

    It’s the people we love that make the food taste so good.


Leave a Reply

