Slice of Life – Day 3: Snuggle Saturday

I can’t remember how it started, but a while ago, my 4 year old starting asking me each night, “Is it school tomorrow?”  On Friday nights, I’d tell him, “No, tomorrow is Snuggle Saturday – we get to stay in our pajamas all day!” He would shout “YAY!” and happily go to sleep.  He’d ask the same question that night and I’d tell him, “No, tomorrow is Snuggle Sunday – we get to stay in our pajamas all day!” “YAY!” – he shouted (staying in his PJs is his favorite thing to do!).

Our family begin referring to weekend days as Snuggle Saturday and Snuggle Sunday.  In my writer’s notebook I even captured the little chant that my kids sing, “Snuggle Saturday, Snuggle Saturday, we get to stay in our pajamas all day! Snuggle Saturday, Snuggle Saturday, we don’t have to rush or hurry today!”

It’s nice to be able to slow down on the weekends and spend some time snuggling and cuddling together.

6 Comments

  1. elsie said,

    March 5, 2011 at 2:58 pm

    Aren’t weekends great for slowing down! Life is so busy during the school week. You have expressed it perfectly!

  2. Elizabeth G said,

    March 5, 2011 at 6:26 pm

    We have a similar tradition in our home. I think that my son would stay in his pj’s every day if I let me. Enjoy your snuggly weekend.

  3. Michelle said,

    March 5, 2011 at 8:38 pm

    I might have to borrow that name – love snuggle Saturdays and snuggle Sundays! Thanks for sharing!

  4. Andi Poe said,

    March 6, 2011 at 2:06 am

    Oh, we love snuggle days too! Enjoy!

  5. onesunflower said,

    March 6, 2011 at 3:35 am

    I love that your family has chosen such a descriptive word for these two days of slow!

  6. caroline524 said,

    March 7, 2011 at 2:31 am

    Too bad we can’t have other snuggle days in the week.


Leave a Reply

