Slice of Life Day 1

Publishing your writing and having other respond to it, can’t be underestimated. I write for myself and for my children. But sometimes, I write for my teachers or staff members. Sometimes I write in memory of someone or to capture a memory that is in the making.

We work with students daily and teach them the writing process.  We bring them through brainstorming, craft, revision and publication and then we have them publish – with one another, with older buddies, with favorite teachers and with parents. They relish the publication. They bathe in the compliments and drink them in.  But in our adulthood, we lose our bravado to publish.  And when we shy away from sharing our adult writing, we miss opportunities for ourselves to get feedback and grow as writers.

For over a year I’ve been reading my colleagues posts on slice of life.  I love the idea of frequent publishing and constant feedback (even if not on the most polished piece) – it keeps us writing and working towards better work each time.

3 Comments

  1. Ellynn said,

    March 4, 2011 at 2:13 am

    I’m so excited that you are doing this! There is something very sacred about putting words to paper (so to speak) and then to share them with others. I look forward to reading your thoughts and observations. Whoo-hoo!

  2. elsie said,

    March 4, 2011 at 3:16 am

    I can’t believe how much the comments affect me. It is that antipication of what did someone think of my writing today? As I read different slices I think, I could do that, I should try that craft or organization of the piece. Hopefully, I will improve over time, just like our kids.

  3. Ruth said,

    March 4, 2011 at 4:07 am

    I agree! Feedback is crucial to the life of a writer. So glad you captured this big idea in a tiny slice. So well written. Glad you are joining us this March.
    Happy writing,
    Ruth


Leave a Reply

